Spring Fling Schools Poster Competition 2014


Spring Fling’s Mini Artists

For the first time Spring Fling, working partnership with Education Services, and supported by the Archie Sutter Watt Trust, invited local young people age 3-12 to design and create the official poster for Spring Fling 2014.

The young people were asked to think like a designer and were inspired by local illustrator and Spring Fling artist Ailsa Black who created a film about the creative design process. The theme was ‘What does Dumfries and Galloway mean to me?’ 

The judging panel was:

Hazel Campbell, Artist and Chair of Spring Fling

Zoe Blamire, Gallery Owner, McGill Duncan Gallery, Castle Douglas

Vanessa Morris, Schools for the Future Team, Education Services

Leah Black, Director, Spring Fling

Over 240 young artists submitted designs. The panel selected 19 school winners, 2 runners-up and 1 overall winner. This exhibition running alongside Spring Fling @ Home from 15 March – 3 May shows the school winners’ original artworks plus final posters of the runners-up and overall winner.

Huge congratulations to Naomi McCreath, age 6, from Carsphairn Primary whose artwork is now the official Spring Fling 2014 poster and will be circulated around the UK and online. And a big well done to the two runners-up Lewis Saunderson from Crossmichael Primary and Nathan Gibson from Heathhall Primary.

Thanks go to the Archie Sutter Watt Trust for supporting this project. Archie Sutter Watt RSW was one of Dumfries and Galloway’s best-loved artists. He died aged 90 in April 2005 and in honour of his contribution to Scottish art and education a trust fund was been set up in his name to support to individuals or projects that promote the arts in South West Scotland.

All the winners can be viewed on Spring Fling's Flickr

All the winners can also bee seen in the flesh at Gracefield Arts Centre until 3 May alongside Spring Fling@Home.

The Winners

Back: Milly Smith, Ruaridh Thompson, Niamh Green, Crawford King, Caitlin Halliday, Jessica Cameron, Lydia Currie, Chelsea Wotherspoon, Lindsay Porteous, Jack Graham, Curran Stainthorpe

Front: Lewis Saunderson (runner-up), Naomi McCreath (overall winner), Nathan Gibson (runner-up)


The Posters

(l-r Naomi McCreath (overall winner); Lewis Saunderson (runner-up); Nathan Gibson (runner-up))



Commenting is not available in this section entry.